Another Year Goes By – Birthdays & Anniversaries

     December 12th is a personal date. It is hard not to take it personally. I do not expect any mood swings but Sunday will have its highs and lows for me.

     My grandma used to dread some anniversaries but always sent out a Hallmark card to friends and family for every birthday, anniversary, or other special occasion (I guess that made perfectly good sense because Grandpa owned the town’s Hallmark Card store). When he died, I learned something else about anniversaries.

     Recently, many honored the day John Lennon died. Grandma would do the same after Grandpa passed away. It was tough to get her to lighten up about such anniversaries but we always tried something. He died in 1969 and every anniversary of Grandpa’s birth and death until her passing in 1973 was observed.

     Today, I feel somewhat remorseful about my 50-something birthday. Some people my age just do not celebrate them any longer. Yet, the date remains the same.

     Trying to avoid a senior funk, I began celebrating my birthday last night at sundown… sort of like the Hebrews observe their holidays. We had chocolate fudge cake and french vanilla ice cream. Today, folks are invited to an open house.

     Tomorrow night, my roommate is cooking up one of my favorite recipes (from the family cookbook Confessions of an Oenophile – available via Amazon.Com or Barnes & Noble): Braised chuck roast with port and zinfandel. We are likely to have a Christmas tree lighting either tonight or tomorrow on my birthday.

     It ain’t easy to handle birthdays so close to Christmas. But by now I am used to it.

     I thank God for the breath I take and hope my life can continue to help others live in this modern world. Oh Lord have mercy!

Out Dining at Lake Tahoe with Teddy

===================

Copyright MMX – Max’s Scout Services & Communications, LLC

About Max's Scout Services and Communications of the Americas, LLC

WRITER / MANAGEMENT CONSULTANT / SPORTS FAN / HUMORIST/ FOOD CRITIC / HORSE AND DOG OWNER / CHRISTIAN / MEMBER OF THE COLORADO GREEN PARTY / ALOHA SPIRIT /

Posted on December 11, 2010, in Spirit. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

