The Masters

Final Round Sunday, April 14, 2013

Imagine my heart sinking when an old favorite of us Augusta-ites, Freddie Couples, misfired on the 17th hole finishing at even par after three rounds. Watching him playing in today’s final pairing was a treat.

Last April when I was in Indiana, the finish Bubba Watson demonstrated on the final back nine was  as exciting and memorable of any Masters I have witnessed during my 60 years. By the way, 2013 marked the 40th Masters Tournament that another old favorite Tom Watson has played in.

I became a lover of golf around my Grandpa’s South Bend Country Club. As a kid, I’d practice around the putting and chipping greens with my buddies Dan, Mike, Mike, Billy, Amy, and Emily, too. When we were old enough to play the Chain-O-Links long course, it was a coming of age.

Today, I tell friends that I used to shoot better golf when I was 12 than now at my age. The time of year that The Masters is annually staged marks the beginning of golf season for me. Despite the fact that I now reside in Northern California and weather permits us to play year-round, it was this week’s trip to Half Moon Bay’s Ocean and Old Courses that peaked my appetite in getting back into the swing of things.

Perhaps you will be watching along with me the final round tomorrow. I shall be huddled around the flat screen at The Country Corner.

Who is going to win now (now that the tournament officials have unilaterally penalized players like the 14 year-old Chinese and Tiger Woods)? I like Scott. I met him several years ago when I walked the first PGA Tournament of that year at Kapalua. His swing even back then was remarkable. Scott would make a fine Masters champion, look good in the green coat, and give us golf fans something remarkable to talk about and remember for years.

  = = = = =

copyright MMXIII

Max’s Scout Services & Communications of the Americas, LLC

About Max's Scout Services and Communications of the Americas, LLC

WRITER / MANAGEMENT CONSULTANT / SPORTS FAN / HUMORIST/ FOOD CRITIC / HORSE AND DOG OWNER / CHRISTIAN / MEMBER OF THE COLORADO GREEN PARTY / ALOHA SPIRIT /

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Sport and Recreation, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I first saw Adam Scott in-person about six years ago last January on Kapalua (Maui). His swing back then was so long and outstanding… he looked like a champion back then.

    Now Adam Scott is a champion of The Masters.
    He is the first Australian who has earned the green jacket.

    How he did it in a two-hole playoff with past Masters Champion Angel Cabrera, is another one of those memorable golf moments I hope I never forget.

    Last year’s back nine play of Champion Bubba Watson was something-else.

    Next to the U.S. Open and the Champions Tournament at Kapalua and the Clambake at Pebble Beach, California, this is my favorite tournament.

Leave a Reply

