Another Open Letter to a Non-Profit Organization Allegedly Supporting the Homeless Community

I have not heard back regarding my appeal.
Dear Inn Vision / The Shelter Network of the San Francisco Peninsula:
I had understood that such reviews were done within 24 hours. Also, I read that one is allowed to stay in the shelter while the appeal process is underway.
I remain homeless, living on the streets of Menlo Park and EPA.
  4-14-2013 1:30 p.m. PDT
 = = = =

Thursday, April 11, 2013  4:30 p.m. PDT

The Director of Programs & Services

Inn Vision / Shelter Network

c/o Maple Street Shelter

Redwood City, California

Appeal for David Arthur Dailey:

Upon return to the Shelter at 3:00 p.m. for an initial meeting with Case Manager Jeremiah Williams – scheduled the day before for 4:00 p.m. Thursday – David A. Dailey was informed that he was discharged from the program and had to leave the property.

Pardon me for my misunderstandings. Perhaps you can understand that this is all new to me as it is my first stay at the Maple Street Shelter.

Under the circumstances, Inn Vision Shelter Network Management is asked to reinstate his access to the program. His intake was done at 12:30 p.m. 4/8/13 and no case manager was available to meet with him that afternoon or all day Tuesday he remained inside the Shelter.

As discussed via telephone between the client and assigned case manager mid-afternoon on Wednesday, David took SamTrans buses to the Half Moon Bay area to apply for food service employment positions. During that conversation, there was no mention of a mandatory bed check at 3:00 a.m. nor meeting a 6:00 p.m. curfew. David assumed, perhaps erroneously, that it would be OK to continue his job search activities as long as he returned for the case management meeting the following afternoon.

I understand my appeal needs to be an action plan:

  1. I qualify as a 30-year resident of the County of San Mateo who has been homeless since February 3, 2013. I am willing to be a well-mannered and contributing member in the Shelter community. I am willing to follow instructions and perform housekeeping chores – in fact, I cleaned the main hallway as requested following the mandatory clients’ meeting held on Tuesday evening, April 9.
  2. I will ask politely for clarification of any rules I do the mandatory clients’ontributing member in the Shelter community. I am understand and will accept the directions of staff rather than the opinions and explanation of clients. I will gain a better understanding of the shelter rules and gain concurrence from my assigned case manager.
  3. My case manager can support me by anticipating my questions. This will likely come with time as we get to know one another. My case manager can describe how the Shelter Network resources work and what might best apply to my particular circumstanceser. My c.
  4. What will I use additional time for? Finding suitable work, locating affordable housing solutions, determining solutions to my health and transportation issues, too.

Thank you for your consideration of my appeal.

I am interested in working cooperatively with Inn Vision / Shelter Network. I became a member of Menlo Park Presbyterian Church’s Hearts for the Homeless Committee in 2005. I researched the homeless issues in Sonoma, San Francisco, and San Mateo Counties from 2009 to the present day. I was also actively involved with the housing transition community in Monroe County, Indiana, from June 2012 to January 2013 until my return to the Redwood City area this past winter.

Sincerely yours,

David A. Dailey

Cc:  Dr. Alyse Gabriel, County of San Mateo Department of Health

About Max's Scout Services and Communications of the Americas, LLC

WRITER / MANAGEMENT CONSULTANT / SPORTS FAN / HUMORIST/ FOOD CRITIC / HORSE AND DOG OWNER / CHRISTIAN / MEMBER OF THE COLORADO GREEN PARTY / ALOHA SPIRIT /

Posted on April 14, 2013, in Homeless and Transitional Living, Politics, Public Health & Safety, Socioeconomics. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

